Video Interviews as a Phone Screening Alternative

Video interviews can cut recruiting costs by nearly 50% and are a great way to decrease time spent on phone screenings or first round interviews.  Asking open-ended questions that focus on accomplishments and problem solving will help “weed out” those that are not good fits for the position and/or organization.

Enjoy!

Gary

Top talent are more mobile than ever thanks to technology.  Accessing them means employing that same technology to get through to them.  Many organizations are beginning to embrace video interviews as a way to save time and money while increasing the pool of potential candidates.

There are many great reasons to replace phone interviews with video.

  • Increased convenience for candidates and hiring managers – Many vendors allow an organization to set up specific questions to be asked.  Candidates can record the video on their schedule.  Recorded interviews can also allow great access to passive candidates. 
  • Increased access to talent worldwide – Live interviews via Skype or Face Time allow candidates and hiring managers to have hiring conversations anytime, anywhere.
  • Decreased interview bias – The same questions are used for all candidates, which creates a level playing field.  Other biases based upon dress or handshakes are also eliminated.
  • Interview can be reviewed by more than one person – Videos can be viewed by several key decision makers to determine if the candidate should move onto the next stage.  This allows for a panel interview without placing the pressure of the panel on the candidate.

One of the biggest apprehensions with video interviews is that the candidate can script their responses.  If an outside vendor is used, the probability of this is low.  The organization will load in the questions.  When the candidate clicks start, the question will appear.  There will be a short time delay to allow the candidate to think about their response, and then the webcam begins recording.  Second or third takes are usually not allowed.  When viewing the final footage, hiring managers can look for body language, such as reading off a script.

Video interviews are not for everyone, organization and candidate alike.  Organizations should pilot a video interview program before completely abandoning phone screenings.  Phone screenings may never be completely eliminated for some.  Approximately one in three candidates will refuse to do a video interview.  It is up to the organization to determine if this is a self-selection process or if phone interviews will be conducted with those individuals.

Many video interviewing vendors can integrate into an existing ATS.  This allows for the video to be saved on the candidate’s file.  The hiring manager can make notes on the candidate and determine which first round candidates should be invited to the second round of face-to-face or live interviews. 

Video interviews are not a final decision-maker, but are a great way to screen many candidates in a short period of time.

References:

How to Maximize Video Interviews – http://theundercoverrecruiter.com/how-to-maximize-video-interviews-useful-tips/

10 Reasons a Video Interview Could Replace a Phone Screen – http://www.ere.net/2014/11/06/10-reaseon-a-video-interview-could-replace-a-phone-screen

Video Interview Best Practices for Employers – http://www.ere.net/2014/02/12/video-interview-best-practices-for-employers

6 Interview Questions to Ask Candidates in a Video Interview – http://www.ere.net/2014/05/08/6-interview-questions-to-ask-candidates-in-a-video-interview

The Case for Ditching Traditional Job Interviews – http://www.fastcompany.com/3024104/how-to-be-a-success-at-everything/the-case-for-ditching-traditional-job-interviews-and-a-cou

4 Ways to Make Interviewing a 2-Way Street – http://www.ere.net/2014/05/07/4-ways-to-make-interviewing-a-2-way-street

Conduct the Perfect Job Interview in Twelve Simple Steps – https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/20140210135852-20017018-conduct-the-perfect-job-interview-in-twelve-simple-steps

Even Experienced Interviewers Make These Mistakes – https://www.therecruiter.com/i/even-experienced-interviewers-make-these-mistakes

What Kindergarten Teachers Know That Interviewers Don’t – http://www.ere.net/2014/09/04/what-kindergarten-teachers-know-that-interviewers-dont

What Golf and Interviewing Have in Common – http://www.ere.net/2013/07/31/what-golf-and-interviewing-have-in-common

The Many Perils of Interview Handshakes – and Why They Cause You to Lose Top Candidates – http://www.ere.net/2013/08/05/the-many-perils-of-interview-handshakes-and-why-they-cause-you-to-lose-top-candidates

The Worst Interview Question Ever – http://www.ere.net/2014/06/12/the-worst-interview-question-ever

Here’s How You Need to Upgrade Your Behavioral Interviews – http://www.ere.net/2014/05/01/heres-how-you-need-to-upgrade-your-behavioral-interviews

10 Fastballs and 1 Curveball to Ask Your Top Candidates – http://www.ere.net/2014/02/13/10-fastballs-and-1-curveball-to-ask-top-candidates

How to Build Powerful Behavioral-Based Questions – http://www.ere.net/2014/02/11/how-to-build-powerful-behavioral-based-questions

62 Interview Questions People Said Were Their Favorites –  http://www.ere.net/2014/08/19/62-interview-questions-people-said-were-their-favorites]

Gary Vice is sought out by leaders in Software and Services who recognize the need to attract the industry’s best talent.  Through Strategic Recruiting Partners’ extensive network of relationships, they are able to identify high level opportunities for well qualified candidates.  To discover how this process can benefit your job search, simply reply to this email or call Gary at 469.402.4008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *